Clinton Central School Teachers Awarded Kirkland Fellowship Grants

The Kirkland Fellowship, established through the Hayes-Couper Fund at The Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties, provides learning opportunities for teachers in the Clinton Central School District. The goal of the fellowship program is to create better educators, which in turn creates better students.

This year, five teachers were selected for the fellowship program, collectively receiving more than $9,000 to broaden their teaching skills and perspectives.

2017 recipients include:

Laura Broccoli and Mary Anne Murray, English and Mathematics Teachers
Broccoli and Murray will attend a four-day summer literacy program at Lesley University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where they will learn how to create a more inclusive classroom, and new teaching techniques for reading and writing.

Travis Owens, Technology Teacher
Owens will attend a software training course on Adobe Illustrator at ONLC training center in Liverpool, New York, allowing him to provide students with advanced training in art and design.

Steve Sanderson, Physical Education Teacher
Sanderson will attend the National Physical Education and School Sport Institute at the University of North Carolina in Asheville to enhance his instructional skill set as a physical education teacher and learn how to better link curriculum to assessment.

Teresa Scott, English Language Arts Teacher
Scott will travel to London, England, to gain a better understating of historical perspectives that are prominent in British literature. Students will benefit from Scott’s first-hand knowledge and experience, helping to improve student engagement and success.

“The fellowship program is an opportunity for teachers to increase their knowledge of certain subject matters, which leads to great change in the classroom and the greater community by creating a more inclusive and engaging learning environment,” said Jan Squadrito, senior community investment manager at The Community Foundation.

The Kirkland Fellowship was established by Gordon and Elizabeth Hayes and Richard, Patricia and Esther Couper who were natives of Clinton. The Hayes and Couper families desired to support the local community and Clinton Central School District by providing teachers with learning opportunities that help to improve student success.

To qualify for the fellowship program, teachers must have at least five years of teaching experience. Through the program, teachers can attend a school, institution or training program to increase their knowledge. They may also work on original research or independent studies that will be used for classroom purposes. Fellows are selected by a five-member committee comprised of representatives of the school district, teachers’ union, Hamilton College, and the Hayes or Couper families.